Queensland District Board of Management – Election 2018

Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union

CFMEU Mining & Energy Division – Queensland District

Election Notice

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

Queensland District Board of Management

Division 4 – Casual Vacancy x 1

Nominations, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Union, may be made at any time from 12pm on Monday 5 March 2018. They must reach my office, email mailbox or postal address not later than 12pm on Monday 23 March 2018. Nominations cannot be withdrawn after this time.

Candidate Statements

Candidates may submit a biography and/or a statement (“a Candidate’s Statement”) to the Returning Officer in support of their candidature. Statements shall not exceed one A4 single sided page and may include a photo of the candidate. Statements which comply with the requirements of Queensland District Branch Rule 19 and received by 5pm on 2 April 2018 will be distributed by the Returning Officer.


A candidate can only submit one Candidate’s Statement regardless of the number of offices that they are contesting.


A Nomination form is available on application to the Returning Officer, or the District Branch office.

How to lodge nominations/statements

By post:         PO Box 820, TOWNSVILLE CITY QLD 4810

By hand:        Level 2 Gold Foyer, 143 Walker St, TOWNSVILLE CITY QLD 4810

By Email: A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to herbert@aec.gov.au Senders of emails to the AEC email mailbox be aware that incoming emails that appear to be spam emails may be blocked. Emails larger than 6MB in size also may not be accepted by the AEC’s firewall. It is the responsibility of the sender to ensure that their email reaches the AEC email mailbox before the deadline. Please be aware that email is not a guaranteed delivery system. If you do not receive a receipt confirmation Email within 30 minutes of sending please contact the AEC.


Ballots, if required, will be conducted as a postal between Monday 23 April 2018 and Monday 21 May 2018.


Note: A copy of the AEC’s election report and the results can be obtained from the Organisation or the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.




Our Union is unique to the fact that we operate from the “bottom up”, not like Big Business “top down”. So the Rank and File decide on their future, their direction, their conditions, etc. District and National Official assist in communicating rules, motions, and industrial matters. District Officials also assist Lodges with the Workplace Agreements and day to day industrial issues. Questions, concerns and motions that affect the District or Rules are passed to your Board of Management member through your Lodge Delegates. From your Board Member it will be discussed by the Board and District Officials (Administration Committee). Decisions made for either by the District Board or passed to Central Councillors to take it to Central Council for discussion. From the discussions either a Resolution or a Decision is made to resolve the particular question, concern or motion. This is now communicated to either the particular District or Lodge, or a Resolution is formed to be communicated to all Members nationwide to vote on be made aware of.

The ISHR or “checkie” as we know them are one of the most important people within our industry. They are empowered to make companies to comply with legislation. Equally they are there to make us work as safe as possible. The ISHR have mine site equivalents the “SSHR” Site Safety Health Representative also have powers under legislation that look after our safety and make the Companies comply at the Workplace.